Wales. New terrain, New techniques, and a New chapter of my life.

So far Wales hasn’t been so good for me MTB wise – I can’t just get on my bike and ride off-road right from my house as I used to in Lesotho.  Also the terrain when I do get off-road is way too slippery from all the rain and mud – so different from the dusty, rocky trails I am used to.  I should get used to it soon enough and build up new skills in wet weather riding.

I’ve got myself some rollers to train indoors when the rain is too heavy, but so far my uncle’s road bike has given me three punctures – two on the rollers and one when just left alone!

My first race in Wales didn’t go so well but at least I can build on that.  It was the Welsh MTB championships up in Coed Y Brenin, North Wales.  It rained on the morning making the course more challenging especially since more than half of it was in the trees on muddy and mossy areas. I was quite far behind the leaders but at least I had fun and got to meet other riders.  I think I will be able to give more of a challenge after getting used to the new conditions, especially the mud.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment